Skip to main content

Urology Collection

Editorial Board

The Urology Collection represents a publishing venue within itself; benefitting from the SpringerPlus infrastrutcure but with its own Aims and Scope, identity, and Editorial Board of leading urologists.

As joint Editors-in-Chief for this Collection, please allow us to formally introduce ourselves, and the Collection's extended editorial board, to our readers.

Dr. Mario W. Kramer is a board-certified urologist with expertise in the treatment of urological cancers. Dr. Kramer completed medical school at the Eberhard-Karls University of Tuebingen (Germany). Later he completed his general surgery / urology training and a fellowship in urological oncology at Hanover Medical School (Germany). He carried out basic research studies at the University of Miami focusing on molecular biology of bladder cancer. Currently, Dr. Kramer is a faculty member and head of Uro-Oncology of the Department of Urology at the University hospital of Luebeck (Germany). His special interests are the treatment of urothelial carcinoma, kidney cancer, prostate cancer, laparoscopy the use of lasers in urology.

Editorial Board Members

Dr Iason D. Kyriazis is a Fellow of the European Board of Urology and a member of the Laboratory of Endourology of the University of Patras in Greece. In 2005 he graduated from the medical school of the University of Crete and in 2010 has was awarded with a master degree (MSc) in Basic Medical Sciences specialized in pharmacology and toxicology from the University of Patras. He is currently attending doctorate studies for a PhD degree in the same University. Dr Kyriazis undertook his basic urology training in the University Hospital of Patras in Greece focusing in laparoscopic surgery and endourology. He then attended a fellowship training supported by EAU scholarship program in Robotic surgery in the University Hospital of Leipzig in Germany. His scientific interest is focused in laparo-endoscopic urology and endourology as well as in translational science between basic medical research and clinical practice.

Dr. Stephen Odunayo Ikuerowo was the best graduating student in the College of Medicine of the University of Ibadan in 1997 and had over 12 prizes and awards. He had his post-graduate training in surgery and urology at University College Hospital, Ibadan and Medizinische Hochschule of Hannover (MHH), Germany (under the DAAD scholarship and mentorship by Prof Udo Jonas). He is a fellow of the West African College of Surgeons and an associate fellow of the Faculty of Surgery, the National Post-graduate Medical College of Nigeria. He is heads the Urology Division of the Department of Surgery and Consultant Urologist to the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital. Currently he is a senior lecturer at the Lagos State University College of Medicine.

His areas of interest and expertise include urologic oncology (kidney, prostate and bladder cancers), endourology, andrology, paediatric and reconstructive urology and kidney transplantation and he has over 40 scholarly publications in these areas.

Dr. med Christopher Netsch studied medicine at the Universities of Mainz/Germany (2005) and Bern/Switzerland (2006). His training in urology was conducted at the University Hospital of Bern/Switzerland, Städtisches Klinikum Karlsruhe/Germany (Teaching Hospital of the University of Freiburg, Germany) and Asklepios Hospital Hamburg Barmbek/Germany (teaching hospital to both Hamburg University and Semmelweis University of Budapest/Hungary). After his board certification in 2011, Dr. Netsch became a consultant urologist at the Asklepios Hospital Hamburg Barmbek/Germany where he attended a 24-month fellowship on Endourology. He was also qualified as Fellow of the European Board of Urology (FEBU) in 2015.

Dr. Netsch is an active member of the German Society of Urology, European Association of Urology and Endourological Society. He is also a member of the German Working Group in Endourology and the EAU section of Uro-Technology (ESUT).

Dr. Netsch has published over 35 reviewed journal articles, numerous book articles, published abstracts, and national/international lectures. He was awarded with several awards, such as the Mauermayer award of the German Society of Urology and the Hans Marberger award of the European Association of Urology. His main interest in Urology is stone disease and minimally-invasive therapies for BPH.

Dr Arvind P. Ganpule is currently Vice-Chairman for the Department of Urology and Chief for the Division of laparoscopic and robotic surgery at the Muljibhai Patel Urological Hospital (MPUH), Nadiad, India. Dr Arvind Ganpule is a postgraduate guide for urology trainees at MPUH Nadiad, India.

He has 103 pubmed indexed publications to his credit, has edited one book and has authored 23 book chapters. He was a lead investigator in the largest epidemiological study in India, investigating the natural history of BPH in western India. He has innovated a novel low cost retrieval bag in laparoscopy (known as the Nadiad bag). He was involved with the team at MPUH, Nadiad India in developing the microperc system with Polydiagnost GmBH, and has conducted a AUA IC course on laproscopic donor nephrectomy for the last three consecutive years.

Jan Klein is Vice Chair of the Department of Urology at the University hospital Ulm, Germany.

Dr. Abai Xu graduated from Southern Medical University(China) and got his doctor degree at in 2011. His training in urology was conducted under the supervision of professor Chunxiao Liu, one of the pioneer of endourology in China, in Zhujiang Hospital which is the second affiliated teaching hospital of Southern Medical University.

Dr. Abai Xu is an associate consultant urologist in Zhujiang Hospital. He is an member of Youth Committee of Guangdong Urological Association. He has published more than 10 journal articles. He was an invited speaker of Thai urological Association and Indian urological Association. His main interests are bladder cancer basic research and innovative technology for treatment of urogenital tract cancer. He was known for bipolar or laser enucleation for BPH surgery, urinary diversion, and single port (LESS) surgery.